
Kentucky Sex Crimes and Offenses 
*This chart is meant to serve as a quick reference.  Please consult the Kentucky Revised Statutes for complete information. 

Crime Elements Classification Penalty Sex Offender 
Registry 

 
Rape 1st 
Degree 

 
KRS 510.040 

 Sexual intercourse and 

 Forcible compulsion                                                         
OR 

Class B Felony 
 

Class A Felony if V is 
less than 12, or 
receives serious 
physical injury 

10-20 
years 
 
20-50 
years or 
life 

Lifetime 

 Sexual intercourse and 

 V(victim) is less than 12                                                   
OR 

 

 Sexual intercourse and V is physically helpless 
 

 
Rape 2nd 
Degree 

 
KRS 510.050 

 Sexual intercourse and  

 V is less than 14 and 

 Perpetrator (P) is 18 or older                                          
OR 

Class D Felony 5-10 years 20 years 
except where 

exceptions 
are present 

 Sexual intercourse and  

 V is mentally incapacitated                                             
OR 

 Sexual intercourse and 

 V is an individual with an intellectual disability  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rape 3rd 
Degree 

 
KRS 510.060 

 Sexual intercourse and  

 V is 16 or 17 and 

 P is at least (10) years older than V 

Class D Felony 1-5 years 20 years 
except where 

exceptions 
are present  Sexual intercourse and 

 V is less than 16 and 

 P is 21 or older                                                                   
OR 

 Sexual intercourse and 

 V is less than 18 and 

 P is a person in a position of authority or special trust 
and 

 P came into contact with V as a result of that position                                                                           
OR 

 Sexual intercourse and  

 V is less than 18 and 

 P is 21 or older and provides a foster family home for 
V                                                                                 OR 

 Sexual intercourse and 

 P is a jailer, or an employee, contractor, vendor, or 
volunteer of the Department of Corrections, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, or a detention facility 
as defined in KRS 520.010, of an entity under contract 
with either department or a detention facility for the 
custody, supervision, evaluation, or treatment of 
offenders, and 

 V is a person who he or she knows is incarcerated, 
supervised, evaluated, or treated by the Department 
of Corrections, Department of Juvenile Justice, 
detention facility, or contracting entity 

Sodomy 1st 
Degree 

 
KRS 510.070 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 

 Forcible compulsion                                                         
OR 

Class B Felony 
 

Class A Felony if V is 
less than 12 or receives 

a serious physical 
injury 

10-20 
years 
 
20-50 
years or 
life 

Lifetime 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 

 V is physically helpless                                                     
OR 



 Deviate sexual intercourse and 

 V is less than 12 

Sodomy 2nd 
degree 

 
KRS 510.080 

 Deviate Sexual intercourse and 
 V is less than 14 and 

 P is 18 or older                                                                 OR 

Class C Felony 5-10 years 20 years 
except where 

exceptions 
present 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is mentally incapacitated                                           OR 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is an individual with an intellectual disability 

Sodomy 3rd 
Degree 

 
KRS 510.090 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is 16 or 17 and 
 P is at least 10 years older than V 

Class D Felony 1-5 years 20 years 
except where 

exceptions 
present 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is less than 16 and 
 P is 21 or older 

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is less than 18 and 
 P is a person in a position of authority or special trust 

and 
 P came into contact with V as a result of that position  

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 
 V is less than 18 and 
 P is 21 or older and provides a foster family home for 

V  

 Deviate sexual intercourse and 

 P is a jailer, or an employee, contractor, vendor, or 
volunteer of the Department of Corrections, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, or a detention facility 
as defined in KRS 520.010, of an entity under contract 
with either department or a detention facility for the 
custody, supervision, evaluation, or treatment of 
offenders, and 

 V is a person who he r she knows is incarcerated, 
supervised, evaluated, or treated by the Department 
of Corrections, Department of Juvenile Justice, 
detention facility, or contracting entity 

Sexual Abuse 
1st Degree 

 
KRS 510.110 

 Sexual contact and 
 Forcible compulsion                                                         

OR 

Class C Felony where V 
is less than 12 years old 

 
 
 
 

Class D Felony if V is 12 
years old or older 

5-10 years 
 
 
 
 
 
1-5 years 

20 years 
except where 

exceptions 
present 

 Sexual contact and 

 V is less than 12                                                        
OR 

 Sexual contact and 
 V is mentally incapacitated                                             

OR 

 Sexual contact and 
 V is physically helpless                                                     

OR 

 Sexual contact and 
 V is an individual with an intellectual disability           

OR 

 Sexual contact OR masturbating in presence of V, 
including electronically and 

 P is 21 or older and 



 V is less than 16                                                                 
OR 

 Sexual contact OR masturbating in presence of V, 
including electronically and 

 P is a person in a position of authority or special trust 
and 

 P came into contact with V as a result of that position 
and 

 V is less than 18  
Sexual Abuse 

2nd Degree  
 

KRS 510.120 

 Sexual contact and 

 V is at least 18 and 
 V is a person who is incarcerated, supervised, 

evaluated, or treated by DOC, DJJ, detention facility, 
or contracting entity and 

 P is a jailer, employee, contractor, vendor, or 
volunteer, of DOC, DJJ or detention facility, or entity 
under contract with them for custody, supervision, 
evaluation, or treatment of offenders 

Class A Misdemeanor Max 12 
months 

20 years if 
victim is a 
minor and 
offender is 

adult 

 Sexual contact and 
 V is less than 16 and 
 P is at least 18, but less than 21 

Sexual Abuse 
3rd Degree 

KRs 510.130 

 Sexual contact and 
 Without V’s consent 

Class B Misdemeanor Max 90 
days 

 

Sexual 
misconduct 
KRS 510.140 

 Sexual intercourse OR deviate sexual intercourse and 

 Without V’s consent 

Class A Misdemeanor Max 12 
months 

 

Indecent 
Exposure 1st 

Degree 
KRS 510.148 

 Intentional exposure of genitals 
 Under circumstances likely to cause affront 

or alarm 
 V is under the age of 18 years 

1st offense – Class B Misd. 
 

2nd within 3 years – Class A Misd. 
 

3rd & others – Class D Felony 

Max 90 
days 
Max 12 
months 
1-5 years 

 

Indecent 
Exposure 

2nd Degree 
KRS 510.150 

 Intentional exposure of genitals and 

 Under circumstances likely to cause affront or alarm 
and 

 V is 18 years of age or older 

Class B Misdemeanor Max 90 
days 

 

Electronic 
solicitation of 

a minor for 
sex or other 

illegal activity 
KRS 510.155 

 Knowingly use a communications system (using 
computers, computer networks, computer bulletin 
boards, cellular telephones or other electronics) and 

 For the purpose of procuring or promoting the use of 
a minor, or a peace officer posing as a minor and 

 For any activity in violation of KRS 510.040 – 510.110, 
529.100 if commercial sex, or 530.064(1)(a), or KRS 
531 

Class D Felony 1-5 years 20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met 



Voyeurism 
KRS 531.090 

 For the purpose of observing, viewing, 
photographing, filming, or videotaping the sexual 
conduct, genitals, an undergarment worn without 
being publically visible, or female nipple of another 
person and 

 Without V’s consent and 

 V is in a place where a reasonable person would 
believe the conduct, genitals, undergarments, or 
female nipple will not be observed or videotaped 
without his or her knowledge and 

 P intentionally uses or causes use of a camera, 
videotape, or other image recording device              OR 

 P intentionally uses the eye or any vision enhancing 
device                                                                                OR 

 P intentionally enters or remains unlawfully in or 
upon the premises of another person 

Class A Misdemeanor Max 12 
months 

 

Video 
voyeurism 

KRS 531.100 

 Intentional use or causing use of a camera, videotape, 
or other image recording device and 

 For the purpose of observing, viewing and 
photographing, filming or videotaping the sexual 
conduct, genitals, or female nipple of another person 

 Without that person’s consent and 

 Uses or divulges any image so obtained for 
consideration                                                                     
OR 

Class D Felony 1-5 years 20 years if 
depiction of 

minor or 
minor victim 

 Distributes any images so obtained by live or 
recorded visual medium, electronic mail, Internet, or 
commercial on-line service.  

Distribution 
of sexually 

explicit 
images 
without 

consent KRS 
531.120 

 P intentionally distributes to any 3rd party 
private erotic matter and 

 Without written consent of the person 
depicted, and 

 With the intent to profit, or to harm, harass, 
intimidate, threaten, or coerce the person 
depicted; and 

 The disclosure would cause a reasonable 
person to suffer harm. 
NOTE: Restrictions apply, see Chapter 5, A(4) 

P’s 1st Offense 
Class A Misdemeanor 
Subsequent Offenses 

Class D Felony 
P Distributes the Erotic Matter 

for Profit or Gain 
Class D Felony for the first 

offense and a Class C Felony 
subsequent offense 

Max 
12 months 

 
1-5 years 

 
 

1-5 years 
5-10 years 

 
 

20 years for 
felony 

offenses 
involving 
minors.  

Human 
Trafficking 

KRS 529.100 

 Intentionally subjecting one or more person 

 Commercial sexual activity 

 Through the use of force, fraud, or coercion 

 Except that if the trafficked person is under 
18, force, fraud, or coercion is not needed 

If V is 18 or older 
Class C Felony or Class B 

Felony if serious physical injury 
 

If V is under 18 
Class B Felony or Class A 

Felony if serious physical injury 
 

 
5-10 years 
10-20 
years 
 
10-20 
years 
20-50 
years or 
life 

20 years if 
minor victim 

unless 
exceptions 

met 
(commercial 

sexual 
activity) 

 Intentionally subjecting one or more person 
to 

 Forced labor or services 

Promoting 
Human 

Trafficking 
KRS 529.110 

 Intentionally benefits financially or receives anything 
of value from knowing participation in human 
trafficking                                                                           
OR 

If V is 18 or older 
Class D Felony 

 
If V is under 18 
Class C Felony 

1-5 years 
 
5-10 years 

20 years if 
minor victim 
(commercial 

sexual 
activity) and 

no 
exceptions 

present  



 Intentionally recruits, entices, harbors, transports, 
provides, or obtains by any means, another person  
OR 

 

 Attempts to recruit, entice, harbor, transport, 
provide, or obtain by any means, another person and 

 Knowing that the person will be subject to human 
trafficking 

Incest 
KRS 530.020 

 Sexual intercourse OR deviate sexual and 

 With an ancestor, descendant, uncle, aunt brother, or 
sister 

 
Note: relationships include whole or half blood, without 
regard to legitimacy, relation by adoption, relationship 
of stepparent to stepchild, and relationship of step-
grandparent and step-grandchild  

Class A Felony if V < 12 
or V has serious 
physical injury 

 
Class B Felony if by 

forcible compulsion; or 
if V < 18; or if V is 

physically helpless or 
mentally incapacitate  

 
Class C Felony if “acts 

committed by 
consenting adults” 

20-50 
years 
 
 
 
10-20 
years 
 
 
 
 
 
5-10 years 

20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met 

Unlawful 
transaction 

with a minor 
– 1st degree 

KRS 
530.064(a) 

 Knowingly induces, assists, or causes and 

 A minor to engage in illegal activity 
 
Note: Except offesnses involving minors in KRS Ch. 
531 and KRS 529.100 when involves commercial 
sexual activity. 

Class C Felony if minor < 18 
 

Class B Felony if minor < 16 
 

Class A Felony if minor is 
physically injured 

5-10 years 
 
10-20 
years 
 
20-50 
years or 
life 

20 years for 
violation of 
subsection 

(1)(a) 

Us of a minor 
in a sexual 

performance 
KRS 531.310 

 Employs, consents to, authorizes, or induces and 

 A minor to engage in a sexual performance 

Class C Felony if minor < 18 
 

Class B Felony if minor < 16 
 

Class A Felony if minor is 
physically injured 

5-10 years 
 
10-20 
years 
 
20-50 
years or 
life 

20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met 

Promoting a 
sexual 

performance 
by a minor 

KRS 531.335 

 When, knowing the character and content 
thereof, 

 He produces, directs or promotes 

 Any performance which includes sexual conduct 
by a minor 

5-10 years 
 
10-20 years 
 
20-50 years or life 

5-10 years 
 
10-20 
years 
 
20-50 
years or 
life 

20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met 

Possession of 
matter 

portraying a 
sexual 

performance 
by minor 

KRS 531.335 

 When, having knowledge of its content, character, 
and that the sexual performance is by a minor, 

 Knowingly has in possession or control any matter 
which visually depicts an actual sexual performance 
by a minor person;                                                                
OR 

Class D Felony 1-5 years 20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met 

 Intentionally views any matter which visually depicts 
an actual sexual performance by a minor person.  

Distribution 
of matter 

portraying a 
sexual 

performance 
by minor 

 When, having knowledge of its content and character 
o Sends or causes to be sent into this state for sale 

or distribution; OR 
o Brings or causes to be brought into this state for 

sale or distribution; OR 
o In this state, he or she: 

Class D Felony (1st)  
 
Class C Felony (2nd, 3rd, 
etc) 

1-5 years 
 
5-10 years 

20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met. 



KRS 531.340  Exhibits for profit or gain; OR 
 Distributes; OR 
 Offers to distribute; OR 
 Has in his or her possession with intent to 

distribute, exhibit for profit or gain or offer to 
distribute, any matter portraying a sexual 
performance by a minor. 

 
NOTE: rebuttable presumption of intent to distribute if 
possess more than one (1) unit of material 

Using minors 
to distribute 

material 
portraying a 

sexual 
performance 

by a minor 
KRS 531.370 

 Knowing a person to be a minor, or having possession 
of such facts that he should reasonably know such 
person is a minor, and 

 Knowing of the content and character of the material, 
he knowingly:  

 Hires OR employs OR uses, a minor to do or assist in 
doing any of the acts prohibited by KRS 531.340 

Class D Felony 
 
Class C Felony if the 
defendant has 
previously been 
convicted of violation 
of this section of KRS 
531.030 

1-5 years 
 
5-10 years 

20 years 
unless 

exceptions 
met.   

Promoting 
sale of 

material 
portraying 

sexual 
performance 

by minor 
KRS 531.350 

 Knowingly, as a condition to a sale, allocation, 
consignment, or delivery for resale of any paper, 
magazine, book, periodical, publication, or other 
merchandise, and 

 Requires that the purchases or consignee receive any 
matter portraying a sexual performance by a minor,     
                                                                                           OR 

 

Class A Misdemeanor 
(1st) 
 
Class D Felony (2nd)  
 
Class C Felony 
(subsequent) 

Max 12 
months 
 
1-5 years 
 
5-10 years 

20 years if 
involves 

minor and is 
felony 

offense 

 Denies or threatens to deny a franchise, revokes or 
threatens to revoke, or imposes any penalty, financial 
or otherwise, by reason of the failure of any person to 
accept such matter, or by reason of the return of such 
matter. 

Advertising 
material 

portraying a 
sexual 

performance 
by minor 

KRS 531.360 

 When, having knowledge of its content and character 
thereof, and 

 Writes or creates advertising or solicits anyone to 
publish such advertising or otherwise promotes the 
sale or distribution of matter portraying a sexual 
performance by a minor.  

Class D Felony (1st) 
 
Class C Felony (2nd, 3rd, 
etc) 

1-5 years 
 
5-10 years 

20 years  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Other Related Crimes 
*This chart is meant to serve as a quick reference.  Please consult the Kentucky Revised Statutes for complete information. 

Crime Mental State Elements  Classification Penalty 

Harrassment 
KRS  525.070 

Intentional  With intent to intimidate, harass, annoy, or alarm 
another person and 

 Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise subjects a person to 
physical contact 

Class B 
Misdemeanor 

Max 90 Days 

Intentional  With intent to intimidate, harass, annoy, or alarm 
another person and 

 Attempts or threatens to strike, shove, kick, or 
otherwise subject the person to physical contact                
OR 

 In a public place, makes an offensively coarse 
utterance, gesture, or display, or addresses abusive 
language to any person present                                    OR 

 Follows a person in or about a public place or places 
                                                                                                 OR 

 Engages in a course of conduct or repeatedly commits 
acts which alarm or seriously annoy another person 
and serve no legitimate purpose     OR 

 Being a student on school premise, school 
transportation, or school event: 

 Damages or commits a theft of the property of another 
student; or 

 Substantially disrupts the operation of the school; or  

 Creates a hostile environment by means of any 
gestures, written communications, oral statements or 
physical acts that a reasonable person under the 
circumstances should know would cause another 
student to suffer fear of physical harm, intimidation, 
humiliation, or embarrassment.  

Violation Fine only 

Harrassing 
Communications 

KRS 525.080 

Intentional  With intent to intimidate, harass, annoy, or alarm 
another person and 

 Communicates with a person, anonymously or 
otherwise, by telephone, telegraph, mail, or any other 
form of electronic or written communication in a 
manner which causes annoyance or alarm and serves 
no purpose of legitimate communication                                 
OR 

 Makes a telephone call, whether or not conversation 
ensues with no purpose of legitimate communication                                 
OR 

 Communicates, while a student, with or about another 
school student, anonymously or otherwise, by 
telephone, internet, mail, or any form of electronic or 
written communication in a manner which a 
reasonable person should know would cause the other 
student to suffer fear of physical harm, intimidation, 
humiliation, or embarrassment and which serves no 
purpose of legitimate communication.  

Class B 
Misdemeanor 

Max 90 days 

Violations of 
Protective 

Orders 
EPO/DVO 

KRS 403.763 

Intentional  P intentionally violates the provisions of an order of 
protection and 

 Occurs after the person has been served or given 
notice of the order 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Max 12 
months 

Violations of 
Interpersonal 

Intentional  P intentionally violates the provisions of an 
interpersonal protective order and 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Max 12 
months 



Protective 
Orders TIPO/IPO 

KRS 456.180 

 Occurs after the person has been served or given 
notice of the order 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Kentucky Child Abuse Statutes and Crimes 
*This chart is meant to serve as a quick reference.  Please consult the Kentucky Revised Statutes for complete information. 

Crime Elements Classification 

Abandonment 
of a Minor 

KRS 530.040 
 

(1) Parent, guardian, or other charged with care of custody of a minor 
(2) Desert the minor 
 a.  any place under circumstances endangering life or health; and 
 b.  With intent to abandon 

Class D Felony 

Concealing 
Birth of Infant 
KRS 530.030 

(1) Conceal corpse of newborn child 
(2)(a) With intent to conceal the fact of its birth, or 
     (b) With intent to prevent a determination of whether it was born dead or alive. 
 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Controlled 
Substance 

Endangerment 
to a Child in the 

1st Degree 
KRS 218A.1441 

(1) Knowingly cause or permit 
(2) A child to be present 
(3)(a) When any person is illegally manufacturing a controlled substance or meth, or 
     (b) Possesses a hazardous chemical substance with intent to illegally manufacture a 
controlled substance or meth 
(4)  Under circumstances that place a child in danger of serious physical injury or death; 
and 
(5) the child dies as a result of the commission of the offense 

Class A Felony – 
violent offense 
pursuant to KRS 

439.3401 

Controlled 
Substance 

Endangerment 
to a Child in the 

2nd Degree 

(1) Knowingly cause or permit 
(2) A child to be present 
(3)(a) When any person is illegally manufacturing a controlled substance or meth, or 
      (b) Possesses a hazardous chemical substance with intent to illegally manufacture a 
controlled substance or meth 
(4)  Under circumstances that place a child in danger of serious physical injury or death; 
and 
(5)  The child receives serious physical injury as a result of the commission of the offense. 
**Under KRS if at the time of the commission of the offense and in furtherance, 
possessed a firearm then shall be penalized as a Class A felony.   

Class B Felony 
(violent offense 
pursuant to KRS 
439.3401 if death 
or seriously 
physical injury to 
child) 

Controlled 
Substance 

Endangerment 
to a Child in the 

3rd Degree 
KRS 218A.1443 

(1) Knowingly cause or permit 
(2) A child to be present 
(3)(a) When any person is illegally manufacturing a controlled substance or meth, or 
      (b) Possesses a hazardous chemical substance with intent to illegally manufacture a 
controlled substance or meth 
(4)  Under circumstances that place a child in danger of serious physical injury or death; 
and 
(5)  The child receives physical injury as a result of the commission of the offense. 
**Under KRS if at the time of the commission of the offense and in furtherance, 
possessed a firearm then shall be penalized as a Class B felony.   

Class C Felony 

Controlled 
Substance 

Endangerment 
to a Child in the 

4th Degree 
KRS 218A.1444 

(1) Knowingly cause or permit 
(2) A child to be present 
(3)(a) When any person is illegally manufacturing a controlled substance or meth, or 
      (b) Possesses a hazardous chemical substance with intent to illegally manufacture a 
controlled substance or meth 
(4)  Under circumstances that place a child in danger of serious physical injury or death; 
and 
(5)  The child is not injured as a result of the commission of the offense.   
**Under KRS if at the time of the commission of the offense and in furtherance, 
possessed a firearm then shall be penalized as a Class C felony.   

Class D Felony 

Criminal Abuse 
in the 1st 
Degree 

KRS 508.100 

(1) Intentionally 
(2)(a) Abuse a person, or 
   (b) Permit a person of whom one has actual custody to be abused 
(3)  And thereby 
     (a) Cause serious physical injury, or 
     (b) Place a person in a situation that may cause serious physical injury, or 
     (c) Cause torture, cruel confinement or cruel punishment 
(4)(a) to a person 12 years old or less, or 
      (b) To a person who is physically helpless 

Class C Felony 
(violent offense 

per KRS 439.3401) 



       (c) To a person who is mentally helpless 
 

Criminal Abuse 
In the 2nd 
Degree 

KRS 508.110 

(1) Wantonly 
(2)(a) Abuse a person, or 
   (b) Permit a person of whom one has actual custody to be abused 
(3)  And thereby 
     (a) Cause serious physical injury, or 
     (b) Place a person in a situation that may cause serious physical injury, or 
     (c) Cause torture, cruel confinement or cruel punishment 
(4)(a) to a person 12 years old or less, or 
     (b) To a person who is physically helpless 
     (c) To a person who is mentally helpless 

Class D Felony 

Criminal Abuse 
in the 3rd 
Degree 

KRS 508.120 

(1) Recklessly 
(2)(a) Abuse a person, or 
   (b) Permit a person of whom one has actual custody to be abused 
(3)  And thereby 
     (a) Cause serious physical injury, or 
     (b) Place a person in a situation that may cause serious physical injury, or 
     (c) Cause torture, cruel confinement or cruel punishment 
(4)(a) to a person 12 years old or less, or 
     (b) To a person who is physically helpless 
     (c) To a person who is mentally helpless 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Endangering 
the Welfare of 

a Minor 
KRS 530.060 

(1)  Being a parent, guardian or person legally charged with the care or custody of a 
minor 
(2) Fail or refuse to exercise diligence in the control of such child 
(3)  To prevent him from becoming a neglected, dependent or delinquent child 
 
** Commentary to KRS 530.060*****Requires a “prior judicial finding of neglect, 
dependency or delinquency of the child” as precursor to successful conviction if against a 
parent, guardian or other person legally charged with the care or custody of a minor. 
 
****You may want to consider charging as Wanton Endangerment Second Degree if 
facts are applicable to avoid this issue*************** 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Failure to 
Report Child 

Dep., Neglect, 
or Abuse 

KRS 620.030 

Only 2 privileges apply:  Attorney/Client and Clergy/Penitent  
(1) Any person 
(2) with reasonable cause to believe that a child is dependent, neglected or abused or a 
victim of human trafficking 
(3) shall immediately report to local law enforcement, or KSP; CHFS division of 
community based services; Commonwealth or County Attorney 

Class B 
Misdemeanor for 

1st offense 
 

Class A 
Misdemeanor for 

2nd offense 
 

Class D Felony for 
3rd or subsequent 

offense 

Fetal Homicide, 
1st Degree 

KRs 507A.020 

Subsection 1: 
(1) Intentionally 
(2) Cause the death 
(3) Of an unborn child 
Subsection 2: 
(1) With the intent necessary to commit an offense under KRS 507.020(1)(a)- intent to 
cause death of another person) 
(2) You cause the death  
(3) Of an unborn child 
(4) Not acting under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance for which there was 
a reasonable explanation or excuse 
Subsection 3: 
(1) Under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to human life, including but 
not limited to the operation of a motor vehicle 
(2) Wantonly engage in conduct 

Capital Offense 
(although does not 

qualify for the 
death penalty – 
Violent offense 
pursuant to KRS 

439.3401) 



(3) Creating a grave risk of death to an unborn child, and  
(4) Cause the death of the unborn child 
 
*** ”Unborn child” is defined as “a member of the species homo sapiens in utero from 
conception onward, without regard to age, health or condition of pregnancy”. 
 This statute does not apply to any acts of a pregnant woman that caused the 
death of her unborn child; to the acts of health care providers that cause the death of an 
unborn child where the acts are committed with the consent of the mother; and as part 
of or incident to diagnostic testing or therapeutic medical or fertility treatment. 
 

Fetal Homicide, 
2nd Degree 

KRS 507A.030 

Subsection (1): 
(1) With intent to cause serious physical injury 
(2)(a) To an unborn child, or 
     (b) To a third person (as defined under KRS 507.030(1)(a)) 
(3) Cause the death of the unborn child 
Subsection (2): 
(1)(a) Intentionally 
(2) Cause Death 
(3)(a) Of an unborn child, or 
     (b) Or a third person (as defined under KRS 507.030(1)(b) 
(4) Under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance for which there was a 
reasonable explanation or excuse 
 

Class B Felony 
(violent offense 
pursuant to KRS 

439.3401) 

Fetal Homicide, 
3rd Degree 

KRS 507A.040 

(1) Wantonly 
(2) Cause death, including , but not limited to situations where the death results from 
the person’s operation of a motor vehicle 
(3) Of an unborn child 
 

Class C Felony 

Fetal Homicide, 
4th Degree 

KRS 507A.050 

(1) Recklessly 
(2) Cause Death 
(3) Of an unborn child 

Class D Felony 

Assault in the 
1st Degree 

KRS 508.010 

Subsection (1)(a): 
 (1) Intentionally 
 (2) Cause serious physical injury to another person 
 (3) By means of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (1) Manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life 
 (2) Wantonly 
 (3) Engage in conduct which creates grave risk of death to another 
 (4) Thereby causing serious physical injury to another person 

Class B Felony 
(violent offense) 

but Class D Felony 
is committed 

under extreme 
emotional 

disturbance 

Assault in the 
2nd Degree 

KRS 508.020 

Subsection (1)(a): 
(1) Intentionally 

 (2) Cause serious physical injury to another person 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (1) Intentionally 
 (2) Cause physical injury to another person 
 (3) By means of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument 
Subsection (1)(c): 
 (1) Wantonly 
 (3) Cause serious physical injury to another person 
 (4) By means of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument 
 

Class C Felony but 
class D felony is 

committed under 
extreme emotional 

disturbance 

Assault in the 
4th Degree 

KRS 508.030 

Subsection (1)(a): 
 (1) Intentionally or wantonly 
 (2) Cause physical injury to another person. 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (1) Recklessly 
 (2) Cause physical injury to another person 
 (3) By means of  deadly weapon or dangerous instrument. 

Class A Misdemeanor (B 
misdemeanor if assault 

committed under extreme 
emotional disturbance).  
Enhanceable to D felony 

charge if 3rd charged offense 
within 5 years and victim and 



 
*********Parental Justification statute KRS 503.110- does not include use 
of force that is designed to cause or known to create a substantial risk of 
causing death, serious physical injury, disfigurement, extreme pain or 
extreme mental distress!  

perpetrator meet the 
definition of family member. 

 

Kidnapping 
KRS 509.040 

(1) Unlawfully 
(2) Retrain another person 
(3) With intent 
 (a) to hold him for ransom or reward, or 
 (b) To accomplish or advance the commission of a 

felony, or 
 (c) To inflict bodily injury or terrorize him or 

another, or 
 (d) To interfere with a governmental or political 

function, or 
 (e) To use him as a shield or hostage, or 
 (f) To deprive the parents or guardian of the 

custody of a minor, when the person taking the 
minor is not a person exercising custodial control 
or supervision of the minor as the term “PECC” is 
defined in KRS 600.020. 

 

Capital offense, when victim not released alive or 
when victim is released alive but subsequently dies as 
a result of serious physical injuries suffered during the 
kidnapping, or not being released in a safe place; or 
being released in any circumstances which are 
intended, known or should have been known to cause 
or lead to the victim’s death.  Class A felony when 
victim is released alive but has suffered serious 
physical injury, or as a result of not being released in a 
safe place, or as a result of being released in any 
circumstance which are intended, known or should 
have been known to cause or lead to seriously physical 
injury.  Class B felony when victim is released alive and 
in a safe place prior to trial. 
**Violent offense per KRS 439.3401 when death of 
victim or serious physical injury to victim. 

 

Murder 
KRS 507.020 

Subsection (1)(a): 
(1) With intent to cause death of another person 
(2)(a) Cause death of such person or (b) a third person 
(3) Not acting under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance for which there 
was a reasonable explanation or excuse. 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (1) Under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to human life, including 

but not limited to the operation of a motor vehicle 
 (2) Wantonly engage in conduct which 
 (3) Creates a grave risk of death to another, and  
 (4) Causes the death of another 

Capital Offense 
(violent offense) 

Manslaughter 
in the 1st 
Degree 

KRS 507.030 

Subsection 1(c) 
(1) Through circumstances not otherwise constituting the offense of murder 
(2) Intentionally  
(3)(a) Abuse another person, or 
(3)(b) Knowingly permit another person 
 (i) of whom he or she has actual custody 
 (ii) to be abused 
(4) Causing the death 
(5)(a) Of a person who is twelve (12) years of age or less, or 
(5)(b) Of a person who is physically helpless. 

Class B Felony 
(violent offense) 

Manslaughter 
in the 2nd 
Degree 

KRS 507.040 

(1) Wantonly 
(2) Cause death of another person, including, but not limited to 

 (b) By leaving a child under the age of 8 years in a motor vehicle under circumstances 
which manifest an extreme indifference to human life and which creates a grave risk 
of death to the child, thereby causing the death of the child. 

 

Class C Felony 

Reckless 
Homicide 

KRS 507.050 

(1) Recklessly 
(2) Cause the death of another person 
 

Class D Felony 

Unlawfully 
Providing 

Handgun to 
Juvenile or 
Permitting 
Juvenile to 

Subsection (1)(a): 
(1) Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly 
(2) Provide a handgun, with our without remuneration, in violation of KRS 527.040; 
527.100 or 600.040 
(3) To a person he knows or has reason to believe is under 18 years of age 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (1) Parent or juvenile’s legal guardian 

Class D Felony 



Possess 
Handgun 

KRS 527.110 

 (2) Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly 
 (3)(a) Provides a handgun, or (b) Permits juvenile to possess a handgun;  

OR 
(1) (a) Knowing there is a substantial risk that the juvenile will use the handgun to 
commit a felony offense, or 
      (b)(i) With Knowledge that the juvenile has been convicted of a crime of violence 
as defind in KRS 439.3401, or 
           (ii) With knowledge that the juvenile has been adjudicated public offender of an 
offense which would constitute a crime of violence as defined in KRS 439.3401 
(2) Parent of juvenile’s legal guardian 
(3) Provides a handgun to the juvenile 

 

Offense Against 
a Vulnerable 

Victim 
KRS 501.100 

1.  Violation of specified statutory offenses against a vulnerable victim; 
Criminal Abuse 1st, 2nd, 3rd; Rape 1st, Rape 2nd, Rape 3rd; Sodomy 1st, Sodomy 2nd, 
Sodomy 3rd; 
Sexual Abuse 1st; Sexual Abuse 2nd;  Incest- if the victim is under the age of 14, or if 
the victim is an individual with an intellectual disability, physically helpless, or 
mentally incapacitated, Human Trafficking is the victim is a minor; Unlawful 
transaction with a minor 1st- illegal sexual activity; Use of a minor in a sexual 
performance or Promoting a sexual performance by a  minor – or felony committed 
under KRS Chapter 209 (Protection of Adults). 

2.  Through a continuing course of conduct; 
3.  Where the unlawful acts were committed against the same vulnerable person; 
4.  Two (2) or more times over a specified period of time; 

Same level as the 
offense when 
charged based 

upon an individual 
act 

Unlawful 
Transaction 

With A Minor 
1st Degree 

KRS 530.064 

(1) Knowingly 
(2) Induce, assist, or cause a minor 
(3) To engage in illegal controlled substances other 
than activity involving marijuana; illegal gambling 
activity; or any other criminal activity constituting a 
felony. 

Class C Felony  (if the “used” minor is less than 
eighteen (18) at time of prohibited activity; Class 
B felony if minor is less than 16 years old at the 

time of engaging in the prohibited activity- 
violent offense if death or serious physical 

injury; Class A felony if minor incurs physical 
injury thereby- violent offense. 

Unlawful 
Transaction 

With A Minor 
2nd Degree 

KRS 530.065 

(1) Knowingly 
(2) Induce, assist, or cause a minor 
(3) To engage in illegal controlled substances other than activity involving marijuana; 
illegal gambling activity, or any other criminal activity constituting a felony 

Class D Felony 

Unlawful 
Transaction 

With A Minor 
3rd Degree 

Subsection (1)(a): 
(1) Acting other than as a retail licensee 
(2) Knowingly 
(3) Sell, give, purchase or procure 
(4) Any alcoholic or malt beverage in any form 
(5) To or for a minor. 

Subsection (1)(b): 
(1) Knowingly 
(2) Induce, assist or cause a minor 
(3) To engage in any other criminal activity 

Subsection (1)(c): 
(1) Knowingly 
(2) Induce, assist or cause a minor 
(3) To become a habitual truant 

Subsection (1)(d): 
(1) Persistently and knowingly 
(2) Induce, assist or cause a minor 
(3) To disobey his parent or guardian 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

Wanton 
Endangerment 

in the 1st 
Degree 

(1) Manifesting extreme indifference to human life 
(2) Wantonly 
(3)(a) Engage in conduct which creates substantial danger of death to another person, or 

Class D Felony 



KRS 508.060      (b) Engage in donduct which creates substantial danger of serious physical injury to 
another person. 

Wanton 
Endangerment 

in the 2nd 
Degree 

KRS 508.070 

(1) Wantonly 
(2) Engage in conduct which creates a substantial anger of physical injury to another 

person 
 

Class A 
Misdemeanor 

 

 

****Lifetime Registration of sexual offenders if Rape first degree or Sodomy first degree, Kidnapping if minor victim and offender is 

not the parent.  Presence of exceptions also triggers a lifetime registration period.  These are offenders who are convicted of a “sex 

crime” while already having one (1) or more prior convictions of a felony criminal offense against a victim who is a minor (KRS 

17.500(3)(a)) OR convicted of a sex crime while having one (1) or more prior sex crime convictions; Or any person who has been 

convicted of two (2) or more felony criminal offenses against a victim who is a minor; Or any sexually violent predator (KRS 17.500 

(10)).  

All other offenders shall be required to register for 20 years.   


